Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
The Telegraph: Swansea-Russell Martin 13:00 - Apr 13 with 7445 viewsQJumpingJack

Ben Rumsby is running the story that Swansea are now set to sue Russell Martin for £2m for "breach of contract"
The Telegraph: Swansea-Russell Martin on 18:49 - Apr 14 with 1226 viewscockett_jack

So I wonder whether we were offered and accepted £1m from Southampton on a without prejudice basis or declined and held out for the £2m whilst reserving rights. Would be the latter if we are going against RM for £2m obviously. I just hope the owners sought and received decent legal advice at the outset when this began and all communications were made, particularly if we didn’t receive anything so we haven’t unintentionally legally waived rights to the full amount or indeed half if we received half. I’m no sports lawyer but I would be surprised if this question over whether a club is in a particular league or not when making an approach and how that is interpreted with respect to a release clause hasn’t arisen before/there isn’t legal precedent. If we lose the case (the fact a claim is being made and the costs that will involve gives me hope that a barrister has opined there is a better than 50% chance) then the solicitors who drew up the contract might have some restless nights as this feels like something whoever drew up the contract should have addressed.

My initial reaction is I’m not thrilled we are suing a former manager but that does have to be weighed against the reality that if Southampton just wouldn’t move from their guns and we didn’t budge at the time then it wouldn’t be in our interests for the coming season to drag things out. If Southampton have taken the piss then it is ultimately RM’s exposure under his contract and he would have or should have had talks with Southampton about the risk they created in not paying the £2m